Pentecost Novena

Editor’s note: Please pray this Novena! -BB

Most of us need the occasional nudge to look up to heaven. So it was good to be reminded that with Pentecost round the corner, the time has come to follow Our Lady and the Apostles as they eagerly awaited the promised Paraclete. Their prayerful gathering in the Upper Room, from the Ascension to the powerful outpouring of the Holy Spirit on Pentecost Sunday, may perhaps be seen as the scriptural foundation of that most Catholic of devotions – the novena prayer.

With this in mind, here is a prayer from “the Treasury of Novenas”. This novena to the Holy Spirit can of course be prayed anytime, but as a lead up to Pentecost Sunday, it is a good and worthy preparation for the Feast:

Pentecost Novena (3rd June – 11th June)

Holy Spirit, third Person of the Blessed Trinity, Spirit of truth, love, and holiness, proceeding from the Father and the Son, and equal to Them in all things, I adore You with all my heart.

Holy Spirit, confiding in Your deep, personal love for me, I am making this novena for the following request, if it should be Your holy Will to grant it: (Mention Your request).

Teach me, Divine Spirit, to know and seek my last end; grant me the holy fear of God; grant me true contrition and patience. Do not let me fall into sin. Give me an increase of faith, hope, and charity, and bring forth in my soul all the virtues proper to my state of life.

Make me a faithful disciple of Jesus and an obedient child of the Church. Give me efficacious grace sufficient to keep the Commandments and to receive the Sacraments worthily. Give me the four Cardinal Virtues, Your Seven Gifts, Your Twelve Fruits. Raise me to perfection in the state of life to which you have called me and lead me through a happy death to everlasting life. I ask this through Christ our Lord.

Holy Spirit, Divine Spirit of light and love, I consecrate to you my understanding, heart, and will, my whole being, for time and for eternity. May my understanding be always submissive to Your heavenly inspirations and to the teaching of the Catholic Church, of which You are the infallible Guide. May my heart be ever inflamed with the love of God and of my neighbour. May my will be ever conformed to the Divine Will. May my whole life be faithful to the imitation of the life and virtues of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, to Whom with the Father and You be honour and glory forever.

God, Holy Spirit, Infinite Love of the Father and the Son, through the pure hands of Mary, Your Immaculate Spouse, I place myself this day, and all the days of my life, upon Your chosen altar, the Divine Heart of Jesus, as a sacrifice to You, consuming fire, being firmly resolved now more than ever to hear Your voice and to do in all things Your most holy and adorable Will.

For the Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit

Blessed Spirit of Wisdom, help me to seek God. Make Him the centre of my life and order my life to Him, so that love and harmony may reign in my soul.

Blessed Spirit of Understanding, enlighten my mind, that I may know and love the truths of faith and make them truly my own.

Blessed Spirit of Counsel, enlighten and guide me in all my ways, that I may always know and do Your holy Will. Make me prudent and courageous.

Blessed Spirit of Fortitude, uphold my soul in every time of trouble or adversity. Make me loyal and confident.

Blessed Spirit of Knowledge, help me to know good from evil. Teach me to do what is right in the sight of God. Give me clear vision and firmness in decision.

Blessed Spirit of Piety, possess my heart, incline it to a true faith in You, to a holy love of You, my God, that with my whole soul I may seek You, Who are my Father, and find You, my best, my truest joy.

Blessed Spirit of Holy Fear, penetrate my inmost heart that I may ever be mindful of Your presence. Make me fly from sin, and give me intense reverence for God and for my fellow men who are made in God’s image.

Prayer

Grant, we beg of You, Almighty God, that we may so please Your Holy Spirit by our earnest prayers, that we may, by His grace, be freed from all temptations and merit to receive the forgiveness of our sins. Through Christ our Lord. Amen.

(You may add here any additional prayers you wish, such as the ‘Our Father’, ‘Hail Mary’, ‘Glory Be’ and the prayers below)

Come Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of Thy faithful,

enkindle in them the fire of Thy Love.

Send forth Thy Spirit and they shall be created,

and Thou shalt renew the face of the earth.

Let us pray. O God, You have taught the hearts of Your faithful people by sending them the light of Your Holy Spirit. Grant us by the same Spirit to have a right judgment in all things and evermore to rejoice in His holy comfort. Through Christ our Lord. Amen.

This entry was posted in Catholic Prayers, Devotion, Living Catholic lives, Spiritual Life. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pentecost Novena

  1. Deb McKay says:

    Please pray that I make the right decision about moving to CO. and sell my house. Not my will but God’s will be done in my decisions.

  2. mmvc says:

    Praying for you, Deb. God bless you and yours.

  3. kathleen says:

    Yes BB (Brother Burrito), hopefully many around the world will be praying together this beautiful Pentecost Novena for all the intentions of our Holy Father for the Church today, and all our personal intentions. With the powerful help of the Holy Spirit, we shall ride the storm of these troubled times, and come safely home to port.

  4. Polly says:

    Please Holy Spirit I pray for a Spiritual Healing and Physical Strength to fufill the things that God is calling me to do. Help me with my Physical Health which I offer to you my Lord Jesus that I may endure all that I can which is your Holy Will for me.
    Help me in all my special needs I pray during this Pentecost Novena. Help each day to pray faithfully for the coming of the Holy Spirit each moments and breath of life you have given me through Christ our Lord.

  5. Brother Burrito says:

    JP,

    I’m sure you meant “Thank you mmvc” :)

  6. Gertrude says:

    You may be interested to know that the Pentecost Novena has not only been encouraged by the Church, but is divinely inspired:
    Blessed Elena Guerra, foundress of the Oblate Sisters of the Holy Spirit in Lucca, Italy at the end of the nineteenth century urged Pope Leo XIII to lead the Church back to the Cenacle/Upper Room. From 1895-1903, she wrote as led by the Holy Spirit to write 12 confidental letters requesting a renewed preaching on the Holy Spirit.
    She exhorted the Pontiff to invite the faithful to rediscover life lived according to the Holy Spirit. She called and prayed for a renewal in the Church, the reunion of Christianity, a renewed society, and thereby “a renewal of the face of the earth”. In her heart throbbed the idea of a permanent Pentecost: she said,
    “Pentecost is not over. In fact it is continually going on in every time and in every place, because the Holy Spirit desired to give himself to all men and all who want him can always receive him, so we do not have to envy the apostles and the first believers; we only have to dispose ourselves like them to receive him well, and He will come to us as he did to them.
    On the promptings of Sr. Elena, Pope Leo XIII issued several documents concerning the Holy Spirit, 1895 Provida Matris Caritate,the apostolic letter which asked for all the faithful to celebrate a solemn novena ( 9 days of prayer ) to the Holy Spirit between the feasts of Ascension and Pentecost for the intention of the reunion of Christianity. At this time, the Pope requested that the novena was to be a perpetual novena, done every year between the two feasts mentioned.
    Another important event – at the request of Sr. Elena, the Pope invoked the Holy Spirit on January 1, 1901 with the singing of the Veni Creator Spiritus, in the name of the whole Church.

  7. This is a truly special Novena…beautiful! Thank you for posting it here.
    For Polly, I just might be able to help you with the healing (physical) and (spiritual)
    that you are asking the Holy Spirit. He does use people to help. I have worked with
    people helping them with their physical health for 33 years. Many times we get into
    helping them spiritually, too. Please feel free to contact me at schmackersgnld@frontier.com. I would gladly talk with you. May God Bless you abundantly. Peace and prayers, Vicki

  8. Pingback: Pentecost Novena - Christian Forums

  9. Sandy says:

    Please pray for a special and powerful infilling of the Holy Spirit for everyone this Pentecost. May our hearts be set on fire with love of God and neighbor! May we all be enlightened to know God’s will for our lives and be given the courage and confidence to step forward in faith and do God’s will which is always best for us. May we also be healed of all past wounds and not look to the past but count each day as a blessing. I pray that the Holy Spirit come upon E. and P. very powerfully, healing them of all fears, negativity and word curses put upon them by relatives. May they be filled with love, peace and joy and zeal for the Lord!

  10. MM says:

    Holy Spirit you who solve all problems, you who light all roads so I can achieve my goal. You who give me the divine gift to forgive and forget all evil against me and in all instances of life you are with me. I want this short prayer to thank you for all things and to confirm once again that I never want to be parted from you despite all material illusions. I wish to be with you in eternal joy. Thank you for your mercy to me and mine.

    Say for 3 consecutive days and publish when request is granted
    trinity

    PRAYER TO THE HOLY SPIRIT
    (pray for 3 days or 3 hours straight)

    Holy Spirit, You who make me see everything and showed me the way to reach my ideals, You who gave me the divine gift to forgive and forget the wrong that is done to me and You who are in all instances of my life with me, I want to thank You for everything and confirm once more that I never want to be separated from You no matter how great the material desire may be. I want to be with You and my loved ones in Your perpetual glory. Amen

    In Jesus Christ, your Son’s name, I ask that you grant me (State your specific request or intention here!)

    While making the request, you must promise either:

    * (a) To publish this prayer or
    * (b) To circulate the favor

    This prayer should be said for 3 consecutive days. After the 3rd day, the request will be granted, no matter how difficult it may be-MM

Leave a Reply

