10-Year-Old Blind Autistic Boy Sings “Open the Eyes of my Heart”

I know this is not a Catholic Hymn. But the story of the 10 years old boy Christopher Duffley is encouraging and shows so clearly that every single person is wanted by God and His love extents to everyone:

Lyric:

Open the eyes of my heart, Lord
Open the eyes of my heart
I want to see You
I want to see You

Open the eyes of my heart, Lord
Open the eyes of my heart
I want to see You
I want to see You

To see You high and lifted up
Shinin’ in the light of Your glory
Pour out Your power and love
As we sing holy, holy, holy

Open the eyes of my heart, Lord
Open the eyes of my heart
I want to see You
I want to see You

Open the eyes of my heart, Lord
Open the eyes of my heart
I want to see You
I want to see You

To see You high and lifted up
Shinin’ in the light of Your glory
Pour out Your power and love
As we sing holy, holy, holy

(Repeat two more times)

Holy, holy, holy
We cry holy, holy, holy
You are holy, holy, holy
I want to see you

Holy, holy, holy
Holy, holy, holy
You are holy, holy, holy
I want to see you
(Repeat five more times)

His story:
From Duffley.com
Christopher Duffley is a 10 year old blind and Autistic singer and multi-instrumentalist. Born prematurely, Christopher weighed only 1 lb 12 oz at birth and was rendered blind due to Retinopathy of Prematurity.

Stephen and Christine Duffley, Christopher’s adopted parents, shared their love for music with their son at an early age. Much to their surprise, Christopher began singing before he could hold a conversation. His first instrument was piano. He also loves to experiment with a variety of instruments including trumpet, guitar, and drums. Experts have determined that Christopher has perfect pitch and he has great musical potential.

      Christopher’s first public performance took place when he was in first grade at Northwest Elementary School in Manchester, New Hampshire. On that occasion Christopher sang the Star Spangled Banner at a Memorial Day Assembly in front of his classmates, their families and many Veterans. Since that time he has sung the national anthem at over 100 sporting events, fundraising events for autism, local non-profits such as the Santa Fund and Easter Seals, as well as bringing joy to nursing homes and church events.  Most notably, Christopher has performed the national anthem at Fenway Park (July 2011) and  NASCAR racing (Sept. 2011) which was his first major TV performance.   He has also been featured at galas and conferences in the Boston area.

Christopher’s story and music were featured by four major media outlets in the spring of 2011. He also has received tens of thousands of views on his YouTube Channel. If you are touched by Christopher’s music, be sure to “Like” his fan page on Facebook where you can watch clips of performances and keep track of his appearance

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 10-Year-Old Blind Autistic Boy Sings “Open the Eyes of my Heart”

  1. Wall Eyed Mr Whippy says:

    What a shame that young Chris uses his talent to sing bodice-ripping anthems – and to ex soldiers of shameful wars.

    More importantly, can anyone explain how it can be said that God wants and loves each one of us? I only say that because of the obvious examples of the unwanted in Auschwitz and sickeningly numerous other examples. It has never been satisfactorily explained…..maybe it never will…

  2. teresa says:

    Mr. Whippy, those who are persecuted are not unwanted by God, God created us all and gave us our life, so we are all wanted by him. But the enemy that is the Devil wants to eliminate us and destroy God’s creation, together with what is good in the world: kindness, pity, compassion, friendship, peace… Thus the Devil plants evil thoughts in man’s heart, and so we had the Nazis and all those who did wrong and terrible things to their fellow human beings. I know human beings can be very very bad. The evilness of man was a manifested fact to me, even as a child. But in God I trust.

  3. Wall Eyed Mr Whippy says:

    Thank you K, and what I will say is not new. If God leaves us in the hands of the Devil, then what are we to think? If Man is evil (and I agree) then how, if we are Gods creation, can this be? Call me naive (and someone might) but if God is the Supreme being then all comes from Him. This is the issue I cannot get around, and I have never had a satisfactory explanation.

  4. Toadspittle says:

    .

    “But in God I trust.” says Teresa.

    In the USA, they agree so heartily that they write in on the money. No more heartfelt tribute in the current crucible of capitalism. Thinks Toad.

    Don’t fret unduly, Mr. Whipster: “Dieu me pardonnera c’est son metier.” Says Heinreich Heine. (Toad is sorry he can’t translate it, but his Dutch Street Slang is a bit rusty these days. Anyway, you get the drift.

  5. teresa says:

    Toad, not Heinrich Heine but some famous Frenchman if not Voltaire himself!
    As for the trust in God since I became a Christian I discovered the joy of trust. If you worry too much, life will be difficult for you and your worry doesn’t change a thing. So just leave it to the Lord to sort all the trouble and difficulty out, to whose solution we are incapable of contributing to.

    And that makes a much happier man.

    To write it on the money is not a good idea though. God doesn’t care for money or the capitalism system.

    As for the question of Mr. Whippy I am afraid that in order to answer your question you must read Augustine who wrote on the evil of our will and whence the evils comes, then Thomas Aquinas’ Quaestiones disputatae de malo. Etc. a whole library of books on this topic.

  6. S C Duffley says:

    Christopher Is Catholic and sings a great Ava Maria

    His
    Dad

  7. teresa says:

    Thank you so much Mr. Duffley! How wonderful to hear this. God Bless your whole family and your wonderful son. And Happy Easter!

  8. nastashja says:

    Wow u really touched my heart. U showed me dat seaches right deep in2 our hearts he does not luk on da outside.

  9. Natividad19 says:

    I am a catholic!!!….and i’m proud of my chosen faith!!! I don’t criticize or discriminate other people’s beliefs but rather respect them!!!….For GOD says; “Love One Another…..

    My big to thanks the “Duffley Family” for sharing your story!!! Christopher opened the eyes of my heart that my own clear eyes didn’t see!!! To God Be The Glory!!! Amen.

    GOD Bless the DUFFLEY Family!!!

Leave a Reply

