Jesus is our greatest friend

The Pope clearly enjoys meeting with children. (Photo taken in Introd in July.)

Zenit reports on a meeting between the Pope and 400 children, parents, and teachers from a Castel Gandolfo primary school. His message to the children is simply expressed, but full of meaning – not just for children, but for us all.

“Dear children”, said the Pope in his remarks, “you go to school and you learn naturally, and I am recalling that seventy-seven years have now passed since I began school. I lived in a small village of three hundred inhabitants, … yet we learned the essential things. Most importantly, we learned to read and write. I think it is a great thing to be able to read and write, because in this way we can know other people’s ideas, read newspapers and books.

We can also know what was written two thousand or more years ago; we can know the spiritual continents of the world and communicate with one another. Above all there is one extraordinary thing: God wrote a book, He spoke to us human beings, finding people to write the book containing the Word of God. Reading that book, we can read what God says to us”.

The Holy Father went on: “At school you learn everything you need for life. You also learn to know God, to know Jesus and thus you learn how to live well. At school you make a lot of friends and this is a beautiful thing because in this way you form one big family, but among our best friends, the first we meet and know should be Jesus Who is a friend to everyone and truly shows us the path of life.”

About joyfulpapist

JoyfulPapist is an adult convert to Catholicism, with a passion for her God, her faith, and her church.
This entry was posted in Pope Benedict, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jesus is our greatest friend

  1. Frere Rabit says:

    “God wrote a book, He spoke to us human beings.”

    I have been teaching history today to Spanish children. Not my subject, but as is usual in any school, the school timetable has to be worked out and gaps filled, so I drew five periods of History in the lottery of the school timetable. History is given no importance at all now in the schools of England: here it is given more importance, so I have two periods a week for each of my Year 8 classes. Four hours. 16th century Elizabethan England. Then one hour with Year 7 on mediaeval history, shared with another teacher. (I spell mediaeval as it should be and will tell them to do so.) I asked the other teacher to give me all the church history and monastic life units.

    This is one classroom where the Holy Father’s hopes for the education of children will be reasonably fulfilled. Here in secular Spain, where very few children in this once Catholic country even know the story of Noah’s ark, we shall explore the world of Elizabeth I and Philip II and the Armada from a religious perspective; we shall look at the mediaeval monastic life from the inside, with a teacher who has lived a 12th century Carthusian rule.

    Thank you, Holy Father Benedict, you inspire your flock in ways we never expected from you! Mea culpa: I was yet one more early critic who you have won over.

  2. toadspittle says:

    .
    Rabit,

    What will you teach the little nippers about Noah’s Ark?
    I, for one, didn’t realise Noah was Catholic. Suppose I thought he was Jewish.
    Live and learn, don’t we!
    I sense a vague uneasy stirring of trouble ahead (from a religious perspective). Hope I’m wrong.

  3. Gertrude says:

    I do hope you’re wrong Toad. I have been in quite a bit of trouble lately, and even though my doctorate is in Mediaeval (spelt correctly) history, prudence cautions me to keep schtum!

Leave a Reply

