Benedict XVI names 22 new cardinals

Benedict XVI names 22 new cardinals
Cardinal Timothy Dolan of New York (AP Photo/Patrick Semansky)
Twenty-two Church leaders will become cardinals at a consistory on February 18, Benedict XVI announced today.

The Pope made the announcement at the midday Angelus for the celebration of the Feast of the Epiphany.

The new cardinals are:

1) Archbishop Fernando Filoni, prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelisation of Peoples;

2) Archbishop Manuel Monteiro de Castro, Major Penitentiary;

3) Archbishop Santos Abril Y Castellò, Archpriest of the Basilica of Saint Mary Major;

4) Archbishop Antonio Maria Veglio, president of the Pontifical Council for the Pastoral Care of Migrants and Itinerant People;

5) Archbishop Giuseppe Bertelli, president of the Pontifical Commission for Vatican City State and President of the Governorate of the same State;

6) Archbishop Francesco Coccopalmerio, president of the Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts;

7) Archbishop João Bráz de Aviz, prefect of the Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life;

8) Archbishop Edwin O’Brien, Pro Grand Master of the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem;

9) Archbishop Domenico Calcagno, president of the Administration of the Patrimony of the Apostolic See;

10) Archbishop Giuseppe Versaldi, president of the Prefecture for Economic Affairs of the Holy See;

11) His Beatitude George Alencherry, Major Archbishop of Ernakulam-Angamaly of the Syro Malabar;

12) Archbishop Thomas Christopher Collins of Toronto;

13) Archbishop Dominik Duka of Prague;

14) Archbishop Willem Jacobus Eijk of Utrecht;

15) Archbishop Giuseppe Betori of Florence;

16) Archbishop Timothy Dolan of New York;

17) Archbishop Rainer Maria Woelki of Berlin;

18) Archbishop John Tong Hon of Hong Kong;

19) His Beatitude Lucian Muresan, Major Archbishop of Fagaras and Alba Julia of the Romanians;

20) Fr Julien Ries, priest of the Diocese of Namur and professor emeritus of history of religions at the Catholic University of Louvain;

21) Fr Prospero Grech, OSA, Professor Emeritus of various Roman universities and Consultant to the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith;

and 22) Fr Karl Becker, SJ, Professor Emeritus of the Pontifical Gregorian University, Consultant for many years the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith.


This entry was posted in Bishops, Newsflash, Pope Benedict, The Holy See. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s