The Best Part of Waking Up

Pillowcases are an underused devotional resource

By Christopher Heffron

This article is from the St Anthony Messenger website. Check them out.

It’s one of the most unbearable sounds that I have ever known: the blaring of my alarm clock. It’s 6:30 and, yet again, I am jolted from sleep by that intolerable noise.

“Gotta find that snooze button and hit it…hard.”

I wake to the same noise a brief 10 minutes later. Thus, my routine begins: I stumble out of bed, shower, put on my poorly ironed clothes and leave for work.

As tradition holds, I battle traffic. Angry drivers weave around me, glaring as they make their hurried way. But I’m too tired to care. My eyes are strained and weary. It’s bumper-to-bumper now, with little hope of eas-ing. Quietly, amid the chaos, an old favorite rises from the landscape of my half-slumbered mind: the Morning Offering.

I have known this prayer since I was 11. In the sixth grade, we were each assigned a prayer to read in front of the class and evaluate its meaning. The memory lingers still: With a pounding heart, apprehensive voice and shaky hands buried in my corduroys, I dove into my interpretation of the prayer. After 17 years, it hasn’t changed.

I see the Morning Offering as a prayer of new beginnings. Derived from the League of the Sacred Heart of Jesus’ “Apostleship of Prayer,” it was begun in 1844 in Vals, France. For me, its origin only goes so far. The significance, however, travels much further.

Simply, it’s my daily appeal for a clean slate. My sins of yesterday cower in the face of my potential for good today. This is my chance. The day ahead is a large, blank canvas. To God, I offer my finest paints and my greatest effort to create a work of art.

Some days I’m more creative than others. Still, the Morning Offering is my solemn promise: To God, who graced me with life, I will do my part to make it shine; to Mary, who gives warmth to the colder corners of my heart, I will use my gifts to make her smile.

I do this not only for myself: For my friends and family, those who bring color to my life, I am unyielding in my efforts to make this day a thing of beauty.

Of course, I’m not always successful. Try as I might, I am far from perfect. I am crammed with imperfections but I am also full of promise. I am a stumbling, sinning, redeeming, work-in-progress—a kind of graceful wreck. God knows this and, quite often, has caught me when I’ve lost my footing. And Lord knows, I fall often.

A great deal can happen in a day’s time. The moment I walk out of my front door, I throw myself, freely, to the wolves of the day. I am vulnerable, but shielded.

With this prayer, I have offered it up. I have pledged allegiance and loyalty to God, to the large family of believers we call the Church, to our Holy Father and to those around me: my family, my friends and my colleagues.

This beloved prayer is my motivation to make the day ahead of me a meaningful, worthwhile undertaking. It is my conversation with God—my way of saying, with tired eyes, a willing heart and a sea of irritated drivers all around me, “Good morning.”

A Morning Offering Prayer

O Jesus, through the Immaculate Heart of Mary,
I offer you my prayers, works,
joys and sufferings of this day,
in union with the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass
throughout the world.
I offer them for all the intentions of your Sacred Heart:
the salvation of souls, reparation for sin,
the reunion of all Christians.
I offer them for the intentions of our bishops
and of all Apostles of Prayer,
and in particular for those recommended
by our Holy Father this month. Amen.      

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Best Part of Waking Up

  1. kathleen says:

    I have heard it said that the Morning Offering is the most important prayer of the day. Through these words prayed from the heart, every tiny little thought, word or deed is a ‘gift to God’; it transforms the mundane into something beautiful, or a simple stone into shining gold.

    My version of the Morning Offering adds on these words after the last line:
    Grant that everything I do this day may be pleasing to Your Holy Will.
    Keep me from Sin and from every Evil.
    May Your Grace be always with me, and all those who are dear to me.
    Amen.

  2. Mimi says:

    I like your “add-ons”, Kathleen! May I steal them?

    My Morning Offering has the old-fashioned ending: “And I wish to gain all the indulgences I can this day for the benefit of the Holy Souls in Purgatory”. Sadly, I am no longer sure what prayers or works are indulgenced these days. I really should do some research!

  3. kathleen says:

    You are very welcome dear Mimi! And I would like to ask the same favour from you…… i.e. if I may ‘steal’ from you the reminder for the Holy Souls in Purgatory? 😉 It is too easy to overlook them, and when our turn comes to be down there (presumably) we would hope for plenty of prayers from others for our release, wouldn’t we? 🙂

    Many people are a bit confused about indulgences, but the CCC, (nos 1471-1474 & 1478) explains it well.

  4. Mimi says:

    You are most welcome too, Kathleen!

    Thanks for the reference. I shall dust off my copy of the CCC and see what I can find out!

Leave a Reply

