The Father Effect

Powerful video.

About Brother Burrito

A sinner who hopes in God's Mercy, and who cannot stop smiling since realizing that Christ IS the Way , the Truth and the Life. Alleluia!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Father Effect

  1. Gloria Steinem said, “A woman needs a man like a fish needs a bicycle.”

    So does that also mean that a child needs a father “like a fish needs a bicycle”?

    Really?

  2. geoffkiernan says:

    Brother Burrito: Thank you for this. I sent in on to my Son…

  3. Yes indeed, thank you, Brother Burrito, and I just want to add that I found this video not just powerful, I found it riveting.

  4. kathleen says:

    Could it really be true… that (according to R. Matthieson) as many as “9 out of 10 people have a Father wound” ? Surely not? Even if this figure is somewhat exaggerated, it is terribly sad to think that there are so many people who have suffered from either an absentee father, or one with whom that have not had a good relationship.

    I also found this video very “powerful”. Makes me realise just how very blessed I (and my siblings) have truly been to have had such a wonderful loving, devoted and attentive father. He was the hero of my youth, and the person who has most influenced me in my life.

    I believe that one of the reasons I have always had such a tender love for St. Joseph is because I imagine him as being like my father.

  5. I will gladly admit that I may be wrong, but when I look at the behavior of people today in Europe and America, to say that 9 out of 10 people have a “father wound” doesn’t seem like an exaggeration. I think you and your siblings were indeed extraordinarily blessed, Kathleen, to have had a good father – and I use the word “good” in its fullest, most complete, and most meaningful sense..

  6. johnhenrycn says:

    “I believe that one of the reasons I have always had such a tender love for St. Joseph is because I imagine him as being like my father.”

    Well said, Kathleen. St Joseph is also special for me.

Leave a Reply

