Somebody Else’s Dream

A haunting examination of dementia, despair and dying by the incomparable Tony Banks. Vocals are by Kim Beacon (RIP).

This song was a favourite of my late teenage years, though I have only recently realised its power.

Too good to last, how those four words ring in my ears.
A voice from the past has been heard again,
Whether its real or not, I can’t say I care
But my memory’s going and my mind is losing it’s grip.
I’m walking on thinning ice.
Soon I shall be taken down, drowned in blind ignorance.
It’s hard to bear but harder still
To tell the one I care for,

Please to say love is here today, but it’s going away, going away.

How can I fight a fire that comes from inside myself
That threatens a total end.
So much to lose when I still had so much to learn.
Its hard to bear but harder still
To tell the one I care for.

Please to say love is here today, but it’s going away, going away.

Millions of people won’t know what I mean,
None can appreciate somebody else’s dream.
Thousands of reasons for staying alive
Explode into fragments,
Dissolve into nothing.
As I prepare for the oncoming night.

Already I feel a creeping coldness chilling my bones,
Dulling my sight and mind.
Soon there shall be only sand where once water flowed.
Nature dies and is reborn, but I shan’t weather this coming storm.
Not for me to die with children around my bed
After a happy life,
Though rain will fall and the sun won’t change in its course.
It’s hard to bear but harder still
To tell the one I care for,

Please to say love is here today, but it’s going away, going away.

Millions of people won’t know what I mean,
None can appreciate somebody else’s dream.
Thousands of reasons for staying alive
Explode into fragments,
Dissolve into nothing.
As I prepare for the oncoming night.

About Brother Burrito

A sinner who hopes in God's Mercy, and who cannot stop smiling since realizing that Christ IS the Way , the Truth and the Life. Alleluia!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Somebody Else’s Dream

  1. GC says:

    Well that sounds all a bit grim, Brother B. Let’s hope there’s a nice afterlife. I looked for something minimally hopeful in the words and found little. Except this perhaps:

    Please to say love is here today, but it’s going away, going away.

    Love no doubt remains as it’s what we really are, like our Maker.

    Had to think there.

    They say a daily round of early morning golf may fend off this neuronic condition to an extent and also sundry other activities that involve thinking and two or more of the senses, such as cooking lessons.

  2. toadspittle says:

    “They say a daily round of early morning golf may fend off this neuronic condition…”
    On the other hand, Mencken thought…
    “If I had my way no man guilty of golf would be eligible to any office of trust or profit under the United States, and all female athletes would be shipped to the white-slave corrals of the Argentine.”

  3. Brother Burrito says:

    Yes the lyrics are grim, and I was in a grim mood when I posted them.

    The song comes from a concept album “A Curious Feeling” which is based on the novel “Flowers for Algernon”.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flowers_for_Algernon

    This song concerns Charlie’s return to his low IQ state that existed before he had the genius inducing neurosurgery.

  4. GC says:

    That would explain it, Brother B. In my youth (and later, for that matter) I was never a fan of any kind of science fiction. And I had never heard of Genesis until the 90s when Phil Collins left it.

    In my innocence, then, I thought the song to be about what they call “senile dementia”, a major concern now that so many of us are more and more not as young as we used to be.

    Grim indeed. Still, the early morning golf sounds nice and knitting is meant to help too.

Leave a Reply

