“This life of yours will pass quickly”

12507136_178081975888058_9096783160169243831_n

“It is not by privileges, special graces, or mystical experiences
 that souls are perfected in love; it 
is by a total adhesion to my Will,
 and by a real death to all that is not my Will.

This life of yours will pass quickly. 
In the end, you will take comfort in one thing only:
 in the ‘Yes’ that you will have said to my Love for you,
 and in your adhesion to my Will as it will have unfolded
 minute by minute, hour by hour, and day by day in your life.

Tell me, then, that what I will, you will.
 Tell me that all that is outside of my will for you is so much rubbish.
 Ask me to cleanse your life of the accumulated rubbish of so many years. 
Ask me to make you clean of heart and poor in spirit.
 Seek nothing apart from what my Heart desires you to have.
 Ask only for what my Heart desires to give you.
 Therein lies your peace.
 Therein lies your joy.
 Therein lies salvation and glory.

Your plans, your desires, and your anxieties 
are but puffs of smoke blown away by the wind. 
Only what I will endures.
 Only what I will gives you happiness.
 Seek then what I will, and trust me to give you what you seek.

Souls who chase after rainbows 
pass by the treasures that I have laid beneath their feet, 
leaving them behind to pursue a future that is not, 
and that will not come to be.
This is an exhausting exercise for you
 and for so many souls like you
 who, enchanted by an ideal,
 fail to see my work and the splendour of my Will for them,
 revealed in the present.

Live, then, in the present moment.
 Choose to be faithful to me 
in the little things that I give you 
and ask of you from minute to minute, 
from hour to hour, and from day to day.
 It is foolish to pin your hopes and to spend your energy 
on an imaginary good 
when the real good that I offer you is here and now.

It is not forbidden you to dream dreams 
or to imagine a future that you think will make you happy
— I give you your imagination and I am not offended when you use it.
 The imagined good becomes an evil, however, 
when it saps you of your energy; 
drains you of the vitality 
that I would have you offer me in sacrifice 
by being faithful to the reality that is here and now; 
and when you use your imagination 
to flee from obedience and submission to me 
in the circumstances 
and in the places where I have placed you at this time.

Plan for the future by living in the present.
 Open your heart to my voice each day 
and cling to the smallest manifestations of my Will.
 Renounce all that springs from your own desires and imaginings 
and say ‘Yes’ to all that springs from my most loving and merciful Heart.
 Therein lies your peace, your joy, and your salvation.”

(From In Sinu Iesu, The Journal of A Priest)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to “This life of yours will pass quickly”

  1. ginnyfree says:

    Fiat mihi secundum verbum tuum. Is there anything else I can say?

    Thank you for the beautiful prayer. I will pass it along to the Seminarians who come to my little Bible study class at Church. God bless. Ginnyfree.

  2. This entry is very, very beautiful.

    When something so splendid is posted to Catholicism Pure and Simple, though, shouldn’t it be carefully proofread?

    For anyone who is sensitive to language, this short reflection on the priesthood may be spoiled by misprints like: “experiences
that,” “it
is,” “unfoldedminute,” anxieties
are,” to mention only a few.

    But yes, in spite of everything, thisisaveryfineentry.

  3. Just a thought..if the writer of this blog is pressed for time and could use the kind assistance of a proofreader , perhaps an appreciative reader, such as Robert John could volunteer if he is not too busy.

  4. ginnyfree says:

    Thank you Robert., I went from an “A” to a “B” now that teacher has shown up. God bless. Ginnyfree.

    P.S. ALL these comboxes should come with spell check.

  5. Robert says:

    Right.
    BUT the determinant of God’s Will is the issue. This is where the real Faith as opposed to pluralist theology is so important. That is the Sacred Tradition (Apostlic ) and Revelation (Bible).
    Without this link and chain we are dealing with opinions!
    Only this Faith has Christs Promise. Only through His sacraments can we have certainty.
    I say this because today knowing God’s Will has to be separated from Blind Obedience. You will not be doing God’s Will for instance if you deny the Creator (Creed) or treat the Bible as fables.
    The prescence of Masons at the Vatican and the spirit of worldly liberism/naturalism/modernism is not the Will of God.
    Self is our enemy and Self lies at the root of Masonry and its God.
    When I read that the Catholic Church accepts Evolution for instance which is a denial of the Apostles Creed that is a clear departure form the Holy Will of God.
    The sifting of the Church by Satan was announced to the Church by Leo XIII. Satan Apes God (the false Light) and means like the wise virgins we MUST keep Our Lamps oiled (with prayer AND deeds) .

  6. toadspittle says:

    “I say this because today knowing God’s Will has to be separated from Blind Obedience.” How do you know what God’s Will is, Robot? Someone told you, didn’t they? Who?

    (Oh, don’t bother leaving this languishing in “Moderation,” as usual. Just kill it now. It never was this way before. Tempi cambi)

    “…like the wise virgins we MUST keep Our Lamps oiled (with prayer AND deeds) .”
    Just, so, Regbrot. Reminds Toad of the sermon at Oxford University,…

    [Moderator: We would rather not be reminded of your seedy tales, Toad! Two sentences deleted (albeit, somewhat belatedly).]

  7. toadspittle says:

    “…or treat the Bible as fables.”
    Right. The world is really only 7.000 years old, and God made the sun before He made light (or the other way round.) Woman was made from Adam’s rib, which is why altar girls are an anathema in a decent society.

  8. Robert says:

    Toad the mouth; or in some cases the pen; and especially what passes for wit, but is actually contempt is dealt with by the gospels.
    Luke 6:45
    A good man out of the good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good: and an evil man out of the evil treasure bringeth forth that which is evil. For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh.
    The Truth of Genesis is proven in the Passion whose purposes was reparation for Adam and Eve’s Sin.
    Altar Girls? The matter is simply really since the purposes of the altar (indeed its only purposes) is for the Perpetual Sacrifice of the Mass. So the question is whether a execution scaffold is the right place for altar girls?

    Gods Holy Will and Man’s?
    Galatians 4:8
    But then indeed, not knowing God, you served them, who, by nature, are not gods.

    So the test for God’s Will is knowledge of Sacred Tradition and te Scriptures
    Matthew 22:29
    And Jesus answering, said to them: You err, not knowing the Scriptures, nor the power of God

  9. toadspittle says:

    “So the question is whether a execution scaffold is the right place for altar girls?”
    I’d have thought an execution scaffold is not the right place for anybody. But, then, I’m against capital punishment.
    I’m not trying to be “witty” (not right now, anyway) – just looking for some coherent answers. But it’s certain we cannot “know” God – we can only form many disparate, and generally conflicting, notions of His supposed qualities. Muslims “know” this, Lutherans “know” that, and Catholics “know” the other. And the vast majority of the human race that have lived so far don’t “know” anything – either of Christ or the Scriptures – they have simply never heard of either of them. (Without which, you clearly avow, we cannot really live in any meaningful fashion.)
    This doesn’t seem to bother God in the slightest – at least He never does anything about it, never has.
    Any idea why not?

  10. GC says:

    At last it has dawned on me which hymn this prayer reminded me of.

    The hymn is a prayer of St Columba (AD 521 – 597), one of the great apostles whom Ireland sent abroad, and which is sung in the morning office on Thursday, week 2.

    Here it is, sung (fittingly enough) by The Priests in Milan’s San Marco Basilica.

    See if you don’t think the themes and ideas aren’t very similar. What a difference a millenium and a half don’t make.

    Alone with none but Thee, my God,
    I journey on my way.
    What need I fear when Thou art near,
    O King of night and day?
    More safe am I within Thy hand
    than if a host did round me stand.

    My destined time is fixed by Thee,
    and death doth know his hour;
    did warriors strong around me throng,
    they could not stay his power:
    no walls of stone can man defend
    when Thou Thy messenger dost send.

    My life I yield to Thy decree,
    and bow to Thy control
    in peaceful calm, for from Thine arm
    no power can wrest my soul.
    Could earthly omens e’er appal
    a man that heeds the heavenly call?

    The child of God can fear no ill,
    His chosen dread no foe;
    we leave our fate with Thee, and wait
    Thy bidding when to go.
    ‘Tis not from chance our comfort springs.
    Thou art our trust, O King of kings.

  11. Robert says:

    Toad we do know God that is precisely the root of the Faith. I know my sheep my sheep know Me. This is because of what Man is His and the living soul breathed into Him.
    The trouble is Man was crippled by Sin.
    Do not make the mistake of believing for one moment that Adam as Created was the same as the Fallen Adam. The closest we have to the Created Adam and Eve are Our Lady (The Immaculate Conception) and her Son Our Lord.
    The Immaculate Conception is Adam’s Flesh before the Fall ( we know this because Sin never ever had any part in Her).
    The Fall crushed Adam to a level a little above the animals.
    Man as Created NOT Fallen Man (this is what the Wise and Foolish are blind to because they deny SIN)
    Genesis takes Us straight into ever aspect of the Passion. The Tree (wood of the Cross) and the wrath of the Father unleashed on Our Lord is how we understand what Sin is and what it means before God.
    Heaven hasn’t restored the Eden State to Man although the virgin State (properly understood) does protect Man. Man will always be Adam’s child BUT through Our Lord and the channel of Grace the Divine Life has been opened again.
    I repeat Man as Created knows God and what is more knows His Voice.
    The Lutheran Supper has dominated for too long and confused with the emphasis on the Lord’s Supper etc. BUT THE ALTAR IS FOR A BLOOD SACRIFICE. This is what the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass is, a BLOOD SACRIFICE even if veiled under bread and wine nonetheless it is a BLOOD SACRIFICE.
    Like the St Columba!!

  12. Mimi says:

    You do all know, I presume, that the priest’s ‘prayer’ is an adaptation of the vow taken by the men of the Night’s Watch in “Game of Thrones”?
    (I just thought I’d mention it, since nobody else has. It’s very inspiring anyway, in both versions!)

  13. toadspittle says:

    “..an adaptation of the vow taken by the men of the Night’s Watch in “Game of Thrones”
    Possibly the vow taken by the men of the Night’s Watch in “Game of Thrones” is an adaptation of the vow taken by photogenic young Catholic priests?

  14. johnhenrycn says:

    Dear Mimi: Is the prayer here adapted from the Game of Thrones “vow”, or is that G&T [hic] vow adapted from the prayer? I’d presumed the latter to be older than 7 years.
    ___
    The introductory title above – “This life of yours will pass quickly” – reminds me of the inscription I’ve chosen for the reverse side of my tombstone: Hodie Mihi Cras Tibi. It’s so hard sometimes finding your loved one’s plot in large cemeteries unless he/she insists on having a six foot statue of St Michael. An inscription on the back of the stone is most helpful. Ginny’s Latin quotation above (26 letters) would be far too expensive and my family won’t stand for it. They’ve suggested that I think about “Truck For Sale” (12 letters).

  15. GC says:

    Greetings, JH and Mimi. I must be one of the few individuals alive that have never watched Game of Thrones, ever. I don’t think it’s on any of the channels I subscribe to. Same with Downton Abbey too.

    As for the hymn, believed to be by the great Abbot of Iona, it has been in the hymn books since at least the 1920s. Since 1974 it has been in the Divine Office, the translation of the Latin Liturgia Horarum approved in that year by the bishops of Australia, Ireland, Scotland and England and Wales.

  16. toadspittle says:

    “I must be one of the few individuals alive that have never watched Game of Thrones, ever.”
    Toad can make the same boast. Indeed he has seen nothing on TV for at least the last 10 years, except a handful of soccer games, which he has to go to the bar to watch. No – he “misspeaks.” Sometimes in restaurants at lunchtime, there is a TV on – invariably showing the Simpsons dubbed into Spanish.

  17. toadspittle says:

    “I know my sheep my sheep know Me. “ quoted Robot on the 24th. inst.
    I don’t have sheep, but I do have chickens – and they “know” me equally well as sheep do their shepherd. That’s because sheep and chickens are just about as intelligent as each other.
    My hens run eagerly to greet me every morning, because it suits them – because I have their breakfast. …If that’s your idea of “knowing.”
    In fact, they have no idea what I’m really like. Or they might run the other way, before I started trying to discuss Original Sin, or Logical Positivism, with them.
    And who can blame them?

  18. kathleen says:

    About the advice from some of our faithful commenters up above ^ for the need to “proofread” before publishing, may I thank you for your suggestion and apologise for any mistakes in the original article (that one of my Team-mates appears to have rectified now anyway). The blame must be shouldered by me – I was the one who published the prayer + hymn from In Sinu Iesu – although I must admit that I thought I had checked it properly beforehand! Sorry about that.

    Mimi @ 21:55 yesterday

    That’s interesting! Whether it was Game of Thrones who first penned the ‘vow’, and then came its adaption into a prayer for priests… or (as Toad and JH have mentioned) it was an ancient priestly prayer that the popular TV series (from the books of the same name) ‘borrowed’ for their story, appears to be open to debate. It is, in any case, certainly very “inspiring”, as you say.🙂

    The prayer is a pledge to Our Lord Jesus Christ in the willing adherence to the vows of poverty, chastity and obedience that priests make at their ordination. An act of total self-giving. At the site where I ‘took’ the prayer from came this comment:

    “As extreme, as unwise, and as unattractive as the Celibate Priesthood of the Holy Catholic Church seems to some people, through this picture and these inspired words, the Holy Spirit reveals the ethereal beauty, the divine character, the perfect wisdom, and the unparalleled power of this Catholic Priesthood to those who by their God-given Faith are capable of understanding it and are willing to see it.
    How blessed are those men who answer the call to embrace it! And how blessed are we who benefit so immensely from that embrace!”

  19. kathleen says:

    Toad @ 8:09

    You’ve said much the same as this many many times before…. and I believe you have received many patient explanations of the meaning of Our Blessed Lord’s metaphor here in referring to Himself as the ‘Good Shepherd’, and to us as his trusting ‘sheep’.
    All to no avail I see. (Big sigh)

    Trying another tactic… perhaps you might muse on the reality that we are really more like sheep (or hens) than any of us would care to admit!😉

    For instance, how many of us are quite willing to follow after the Good Shepherd Who has promised us that He has “prepared a place” for us (John 14:2-3) where we shall be with Him in Eternal Bliss…. and completely ignore His Words that to reach Heaven we must demonstrate that we truly love Him, and be willing to keep His commandments, and to pick up our daily cross (sufferings, sacrifice, etc.) to truly follow in His footsteps?

    “Ah no, that’s far too judgemental” many would say…. and would then no longer follow their faithful loving Good Shepherd.
    The wolves would get them instead!😦
    [P.S. (for Toad’s sake); ‘wolves’ = ‘devils’]

  20. toadspittle says:

    Sadly true, Kathleen.
    Also sadly true is that I harp too often on the suggestion that it is good to be a sheep. I will try not to in future. And fail, no doubt.

    “How blessed are those men who answer the call to embrace (the Priesthood)!”
    Also undoubtedly true. And, what’s more, priests are generally very nice chaps, too.
    Some of my best friends are priests (where have I heard that before?). Being a priest is a bit like being a journalist, Inasmuch as the same admonition, made to me early on in my “career”, can be applied to priests: “You’ll never get rich at this job, but it’s better than working.”

  21. Robert says:

    Sheep?
    Toad ever heard of Son of David (the shepherd King!) . Born in Bethlehem City of David. Name means House of Bread. The Pascal Lamb was traditional provided by Bethlehem!
    Shepherds in the fields tending their sheep! The Pascal habit of the descendants of Seth (who replaced Abel), as opposed to Cainites.
    The pascal Lamb whose blood anointed the lintels of the Israelites in Egypt immediate prior to the Exodus.
    I could go on and on you will find the lamb(sheep) with sacrifice and as an offering all through Exodus.
    But there is also a deeper meaning. Our Lord told Us that we would be treated as he was treated! The servant and the master. It means that Our Lords flock is distinguished by the Cross that they carry, this separates them from those not marked with the Cross. Our Lord knows His sheep (sign of the Cross) and they know Him (the reparation of the Saviour and His Cross).
    One of the great Malachy mottos is Crux de Cruce Pope Gregory XVI (1831-1846) really just another way of saying Shepherd and His Sheep.
    Chicken? Well Peter’s denial at the Cocks crow springs to mind.

  22. Mimi says:

    Kathleen @ 9.58

    Kathleen, I am well and truly intrigued now! I thought the picture above was just one of those clever meme things. I am so familiar with the Game of Thrones version that I confess it never crossed my mind that the ‘borrowing’ could have been the other way round — that George R.R. Martin could have found and adapted a Catholic prayer. It still seems a little unlikely to me — is there any way I could find out? What site did you find the picture on?

  23. Michael says:

    Here’s the text of the Oath of the Night’s Watch:

    https://www.tumblr.com/search/oath%20of%20the%20night's%20watch

    To be honest, apart from the fact that they both involve renunciation of the things of the world, I don’t really see that much similarity. However, given that G. R. R. Martin was raised Catholic (now agnostic I believe) and employs a lot of religious imagery in Game of Thrones in general, I wouldn’t be surprised if he had something like priestly or monastic vows in mind when he came up with the oath. Considering this, and taking into account the age of the prayer in the above post, I would definitely put my money on it influencing Martin, not the other way around.

  24. kathleen says:

    Mimi @ 16:15

    Well, I found the ‘meme’ (or prayer of priests) from a site called “1,000,000 Strong For The Traditional Latin Mass”. There was no indication there of where it had originally come from though.
    I think Michael sums it up well in his comment above, and that Martin more than likely drew his Night Watchman oath from an ancient priestly vow.

    (And sorry for the delay in responding to your questions; I’ve been so busy!😉 )

  25. Kevin Vail says:

    “Oath of the Night’s Watch”
    That’s what I remembered’ when I read the post.

Leave a Reply

