Interstellar – the movie

Look I know I am a little late in submitting this. Interstellar was released in November 2014, but I have only just seen it and wanted to give a Catholic’s critique. I doubt I will be very original, but here it is anyway.

I won’t give away the plot: Watch the darned film, you low-rents that you are!

What I will say is that the film shows that the only things that cross all dimensions, including time, space, and the Heavens above them, are gravity and LOVE.

Gravity brings everyone down to the bottom, (including Satan according to Scripture). In the film it is personified by a super-massive black hole swallowing all around it. It resembles justice without mercy.

LOVE is the only lifting and communicating force that transcends all dimensions. It is portrayed in the film by an estranged father and daughter trying desperately to reconnect. Sacrifice is the only way they have for reconnection.

Here’s the nub: to save Humanity and his own soul, the father-hero has to descend into the black hole, on a one way suicide journey, from his point of view….. There he reconnects with his daughter across time and space, and thereby saves the world. Then he is returned many years later to our time to meet his daughter in her great-grandmotherly dotage.

Confused? Re-watch the darned film, the low – rents that you are!

The final scenes even include a hat tip to the raking of the souls in Purgatory, by the saviour figure

All I can say is that this film is among the most beautiful I have ever seen. Rarely before have cinematic images, music, plot and script joined together so gloriously for me.

The allegory of Salvation history within it overwhelms me with its beauty.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

The soundtrack is surreal, here are the best bits including a soaring Church organ:

 

 

About Brother Burrito

A sinner who hopes in God's Mercy, and who cannot stop smiling since realizing that Christ IS the Way , the Truth and the Life. Alleluia!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

