A Comedy Of Manners

I grew up to the age of six in a house with ma and pa and five siblings, before my eldest sister left to start nursing. In those days families were more nuclear than atomised as they are today. We would all gather in the living room on a Saturday evening to watch this show together. Laughing along with my family (and the laughter track) is one of my earliest rememberings. There are 55 early episodes in the public domain due to a failure to renew copyright, so the one I link to is guaranteed guilt-free viewing. I hope you enjoy this marvellous humorous comedy which was made in a simpler more innocent time.

My parents moved to the UK from different parts of Ireland just after the war. They met and married in London. There was plenty of work available for them, though like immigrants everywhere they weren’t always welcomed except at church and among their own. Family togetherness substituted for their lack of social “success”. I cannot fault the upbringing they gave me. My parents did their best, and that’s good enough for me. As the fifth of six children, I entered a pretty mature family group. I worshipped my elders, and fought and played with my younger brother, as one does. We would all gather for meals and TV treats like the above.

I think this program was such a favourite with us because the Clampett’s predicaments comically mirrored our family’s own, as fish out of water. I can see now how well written and acted it was. Jed has to be one of the nicest good men ever portrayed in drama. All the characters are lovable. From what I have watched so far, there are laugh-out-loud scenes and lines every minute. Only a bitter person could not enjoy this, I guess.

Look, I know how nostalgia ain’t what it used to be, but it is my main hobby nowadays. I would hate for this show to become forgotten. It is very wholesome entertainment that deserves a new audience. Spread the word!

(Check out Wikipedia for more information).

 

About Brother Burrito

A sinner who hopes in God's Mercy, and who cannot stop smiling since realizing that Christ IS the Way , the Truth and the Life. Alleluia!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Comedy Of Manners

  1. toadspittle says:

    “Look, I know how nostalgia ain’t what it used to be, but it is my main hobby nowadays.”

    “Memory believes before knowing remembers.”
    – Faulkner. A very deep thought. (At least I think it is.)

Leave a Reply

