For The Sake Of The Fox

Let’s not go chicken

Some years ago, while preparing an asleep patient for major bowel surgery, I blurted out “For fox sake!” This was triggered by some hassle with the equipment I was using.

(I have a whole arsenal of euphemistic exclamations with which I avoid blasphemous or profane speech: Oh sugar! Cheese and crackers! FFS! etc.)

My surgeon colleague, a big burly and jolly Muslim from Yemen took the time to ask me why I was imploring the blessing of a fox. He genuinely wanted to know.

Speaking straight off the top of my heart, this was my reply:

Once upon a time, when this part of the world was called Christendom it was common to upbraid a falling fellow with the words “For Christ’s sake!”.

Sadly, in this post-Christian society the name of Christ has become taboo, it makes people uneasy, and so people use a vulgarity like “f**k” instead when they emote. I cannot abide with vulgarity so I use the word “fox” in its place.

Does that answer your question?

Everyone in the operating room had listened to this exchange and were moved by it. There was a short silence and then my Muslim friend smiled and nodded with understanding. He clapped me on the shoulder and laughed. “I never expected such an elegant answer”, he said.

In my dwindling professional capacity, I have many letters after my name. I am thinking of adding “FFS” to them as I increasingly utter those words while I battle to maintain my sanity working in the UK’s Notional Health Service.

-Dr B. Burrito BA BM BCh FRCA FFS

About Brother Burrito

A sinner who hopes in God's Mercy, and who cannot stop smiling since realizing that Christ IS the Way , the Truth and the Life. Alleluia!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to For The Sake Of The Fox

  1. johnhenrycn says:

    Cute. I had a roommate in my first year at university (whose father was in the SS during the war – and we had another floor mate who was a Jew, which is not really relevant) and many years later, we were arranging a get together with a couple of other friends (not the Jew, although I wouldn’t have minded) and he signed his confirmation e-mail: “KZ”, BA, CPA, CA, President Harley Davidson, prompting me to send in my own RSVP ending with: “JH”, BA, LL.B., PhD, Military Cross (with bar), QED, etc…

  2. johnhenrycn says:

    …My children, but not me, are entitled, by reason of a declaration promulgated in 1789 by Lord Dorchester, Governor General of British North America, to add the designation U.E. to their names:

    “Those Loyalists who have adhered to the Unity of the Empire, and joined the Royal Standard before the Treaty of Separation in the year 1783, and all their Children and their Descendants by either gender sex [heh, heh…my little joke] are to be distinguished by the following Capitals, affixed to their names: U.E. alluding to the great principle, Unity of the Empire.”

  3. toadspittle says:

    Toad, BA (failed)

    How come BB never gets moderated?

  4. Catherine Geldart says:

    I think this was a fantastic comment on the anti Christian ball cocks today Lunarteddy BA (failed) BSc (Hons) G. R. A. N

Leave a Reply

