Subsidiarity

This is about the American political system, but I can’t argue with any of the points made, and am sure the principle applies to all nation’s politics.

About Brother Burrito

A sinner who hopes in God's Mercy, and who cannot stop smiling since realizing that Christ IS the Way , the Truth and the Life. Alleluia!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Subsidiarity

  1. johnhenrycn says:

    I got to the 1:10 mark before going to sleep. Pretty poor outcome for an anesthesiologist.

    I don’t actually understand the concept of subsidiarity and wouldn’t mind a serious lecture.

  2. Brother Burrito says:

    I’ll put your sleepiness down to your great age JH.

    The video explains it all. The concept is much simpler than its name.

  3. Tom Fisher says:

    It’s a pity JH didn’t enjoy this. I thought it was worthwhile. I’m not in a position to dig any up right now, but if I remember correctly the Chesterton Society has put together some videos covering this material.

  4. jhcn1801 says:

    Okay, because I respect both of your opinions, I took another stab at this, and agree that the speaker is making an important point concerning subsidiarity. Over here, I’ve also heard of this referred to as “Bottom Up” (as opposed to “Top Down”) political decision making.

  5. GC says:

    If 1801 is your year of birth, JH, as BB suggests,you had us fooled all along, I must say. You still seem so full of vim, vigour and vitality.

    JH, dhawuthuwuthupthun is what I say to you, which has apparently much to do with being on the vine. Vines, branches, fruits and wine are all of the gospels and, though distinct from each other, would suggest ‘subsidiarity’. Not entirely ‘bottom up’, I believe, but certainly not purely ‘top down’.

    (HINT: If you’re wondering, Stanley Gawurra Gaykamangu is constitutionally a subject of Mrs Mountbatten-Windsor, just like your goodself.)

  6. johnhenrycn says:

    Well, my namesake John Henry Cardinal Newman was born in 1801, and that’s why JHCN1801 accidentally appeared. Hope no hackers are reading this🙂

    Is that the same Aborigine who sings I was Born Blind that you sent me and which I’ve saved on my favourites? I don’t think so. I haven’t clicked on your link yet. Best wishes.

  7. johnhenrycn says:

    Clackety, clack, clack. No, he’s not the guy on my favourites list, but he has promise. I’ve recently become a subscriber to your Quadrant magazine. Aborigines – politically activist ones – get rather short shrift there, and I can see why.

  8. GC says:

    No he’s not the same chap. The one born blind is Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu, though he and Stanley come from nearby coastal islands in Arnhem Land, northern Australia.

    They were probably both influenced by Methodists in their youth, therefore. But I digress.

    Ah Quadrant. I used to buy it in the 70s. Professor James McAuley, some of whose poems and songs we revealed here on CP&S some years ago, was the first editor of that.

  9. johnhenrycn says:

    Catholic? I guess not, but simply beautiful.

Leave a Reply

