Pope Francis Has Single-Handedly Destroyed Catholicism

By  at Catholic Stand

…or so you’d think if you got all your information about Catholicism from blog comboxes.

Not surprisingly, Pope Francis has been in the news lately. The media jumped on his offhand comments about homosexuals, breathlessly reported on a letter he wrote to an atheist, and made much hay over an interview given by the Vatican’s new Secretary of State (the media was apparently under the impression that Pope Francis is a very clever ventriloquist, and he was the one talking while the new Secretary’s mouth was moving – at least, that’s what they reported).

A common refrain I’m observing in the comboxes of various Catholic bloggers lately, when said blogger discusses one of these media reports, goes something like this:

“The Pope needs to stop making remarks like this! They’re too easily misunderstood! No one should have to write an article after the fact explaining what the Pope actually said/meant. The Pope needs to deliberate for hours on end before so much as opening his mouth! Every word must be crafted with the utmost perfection so that the media doesn’t get the wrong idea!” etc., etc.

And, my favorite:

“This kind of thing never happened when Benedict XVI/John Paul II was Pope!”

Read the rest here

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Pope Francis Has Single-Handedly Destroyed Catholicism

  1. johnhenrycn says:

    I know this chick’s heart is in the right place, but her article was yawn inducing.

  2. mmvc says:

    And it was written over 3 years ago.

    So much muddied water has gone under the bridge since then…

  3. johnhenrycn says:

    I missed that, mmvc. It’s ‘Best Before’ date has long since past. Back in 2013, I too was much less concerned with PF’s few (as they were then) blunders.

  4. kathleen says:

    Don’t suppose it’s too difficult to guess which of us at CP&S re-blogged this old article, is it?😉

    So much muddied water has gone under the bridge since then…

    Yes, mmvc, well said! Also there’s a much fatter edition of “The Pope Francis Little Book of Insults” aimed at orthodox Catholics now! The mafioso St. Gallen club (and their acolytes) have enjoyed hitting us over the head with it these last weary years.

  5. Brother Burrito says:

    Yes it was me!

    Goodbye dear friends, a parting of the ways is in order. Fare well!

  6. johnhenrycn says:

    …and goodbye to you, old pal. Say hello for me to your new ones over at The Tablet.

  7. Toad says:

    Burro’s trouble is (or was) that he doesn’t have enough hardness in his heart to be a “real” Catholic.
    Too “nice.” I could see him growing progressively more unhappy on here.
    I will miss him.
    He won’t miss me.
    Nor should he.

  8. Brother Burrito says:

    F••• you very much, great mate!

  9. johnhenrycn says:

    “…he doesn’t have enough hardness…”
    Drivel,Twaddle. I think Burrito has more steel in his body than you. But I share your perception that he’s outgrown CP&S. Unlike you, I think he’ll stick to his “fare well” message and not return 24 hours from now – your standard period of abstinence – for which I say thank goodness you do fall off the wagon, since otherwise I’d only have Jack Keyhole to play with.

    I wish I could think of a good poem or YouTube to commemorate BB’s riding off into the sunset.

    Speaking of which, tonight marks the occurrence of the most visible supermoon in 68 years – the last one having occurred the year before I was conceived – just like the Star in the East on another similar occasion. Where was I? …So yes, maybe lunar tides are exerting a temporary gnostic pull on BB. I doubt he’ll return, but if he does, I shall not draw undue attention thereto.

  10. johnhenrycn says:

    Oh dear, I see BB’s Goodbye Cruel World absence lasted exactly 3600 seconds. And here I was thinking I was such a good judge of character. On the other hand, I’m guilty of drawing undue attention to his return, which I said I would not do. Such a fallen race we are.

  11. JabbaPapa says:

    Well thanks for trying BB — it’s an uphill struggle

  12. johnhenrycn says:

    The Bride of Christ is incorruptible. In some measure, the institutional church is corrupt and always has been. IMO. Here’s an article I found in the comments section to one of Kathleen’s above links. I don’t accept as true everything it says or insinuates, but it wisely reminds me not to trust or to bow down to everything we hear from Rome. Fare well – until 3600 seconds from now🙂
    http://www.vanityfair.com/culture/2013/12/gay-clergy-catholic-church-vatican

  13. Toad says:

    “Drivel,Twaddle. I think Burrito has more steel in his body than you..”
    When did I ever suggest he hasn’t? Toads are very soft.
    Yes, I do get frustrated by being regularly, and pointlessly, censored on here,
    But then, I offer it up for the souls in Purgatory as I was instructed as a tiny toadpole.
    And vow to follow my conscience -and soldier toadfully on.
    It’s dark and lonely work being a Liberal Modernist Relativist, but someone’s got to do it.

Leave a Reply

