Why are we supposed to celebrate the shredding of Christendom?

From Father Z’s blog:

I received a note from priest friend.  He included a PDF of an article to be published.  Here is the synopsis:

Synopsis: A close analysis of Kasper’s book on Mercy reveals a powerful embrace of Luther’s theology of grace and mercy. But Luther had no moral theology since, in his eyes, human beings are incapable  good, and God’s mercy replaces his justice. Beneath a panegyric to divine mercy, Kasper’s persistent theme is a diminution of divine justice against which mercy is revealed and illumined.  The result is a trivialization of God’s mercy, the enormity of Christ’s sacrifice, man’s freedom of moral choice and participitation in his own salvation, and by necessity, thereby, his dignity.  

Look.  I’m a former Lutheran. When I was in seminary, we had to read Kasper’s Christology books, the best Lutheran Christology I ever read!

In his book on Mercy, Kasper pretty much says what the Council of Trent anathematized.

I just don’t get the whoopdeedoo about Luther in the Catholic Church.

In the Lutheran churches (not real churches according to the CDF because they don’t have Apostolic Succession, etc.), I get it completely.  If they want to celebrate Martin Luther, great!

But… should we?

There are many things I don’t understand about this.

Another thing I don’t get is why lots of women and many Jews are not upset by the big celebration of Martin Luther.  Just read Luther, for heaven’s sake!   Why are not feminists upset?  Where are the women, for pete’s sake?  Is this an example of what McCarthy describes in The Grand Jihad?  The enemy of my enemy is my friend?  Luther didn’t say exactly kind things about Jews.  Where are they with this?   I don’t get it.  Pope Francis used an analogy the other day about Syrians and camps and lots of people were upset.  Read Luther on our Jewish elder cousins someday.

I don’t see why we are suppose to celebrate the shredding of Christendom.

I know about the blah blah about things in the Church that needed reform in the 16th c and following, and even today.  I’m a convert, remember?

Am I getting this wrong?  Where am I wrong?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why are we supposed to celebrate the shredding of Christendom?

  1. Crow says:

    I am totally with Father Z. Luther was the author of ‘The Jews and their Lies’. He wrote diatribes about women that were vitriolic. He succeeded because he cultivated the powerful princes and was quite willing to betray his principles to further his ambitions. It is beyond me why the Pope would dignify his stance against the true Church by acknowledging his self-promotion as theological reform. He advocated the removal of Gospels which did not agree with his so-called ‘theological reform’. Personally, I prefer not to belong to a church founded by Luther or Henry VIII, both of whom were quite evil men. I prefer to be a member of the authentic church – the one founded by Jesus Christ. The Pope doesn’t seem to get that.

  2. Crow says:

    Sorry – I realise that is not very ecumenical of me…

  3. kathleen says:

    Good to hear from you again, Crow! 😀
    You’re dead right about Luther’s “vitriolic” writings.

    Why the Pope should be so set on celebrating the anniversary of this arrogant, salacious heretic’s movement that caused the “shredding of Christendom” is incomprehensible to most Catholics. It must lead us to one of only two obvious conclusions… Either Pope Francis doesn’t think it matters what ‘c’hurch one belongs to (i.e., he harbours a Protestant mindset himself, where there is no unchangeable doctrine and everyone can make up their own), OR, he actually applauds Luther’s rebellion, and hopes to break up the One Holy Catholic Church into even more splinter factions within the Church!

    “Ecumenism” appears to be the inoffensive key word used to introduce words and practices that dilute and undermine the teachings of the Catholic Church. Only leftover adherents of the dying “Spirit of Vatican II” crowd still appear to take it seriously.

  4. Crow says:

    Hello Kathleen! 😳 The emoji is my reaction to Pope Francis’ seeming approval of Luther. Off topic (as my 15 year old would say), I wrote to the Brothers of Charity in support of their stand against euthanasia being implemented in their institutions. They have applied to Rome for its ruling. Even though I am a mere lay person, I thought that a letter in support may help them, either morally, or in putting their case.
    I am wondering, on a broader scale, if letters by the lay faithful on the topics presented on this site might be effective in Rome. For instance, if Rome receives a large amount of letters against the Pope’s seeming imprematur of Luther, or, as in today’s post, Rome receives letters in protest against Father James Martin, it may not have an immediate effect, but it is better than just waiting for the next Pope! What do you think?

Leave a Reply

