The Pardon Crucifix

The Little Known Pardon Crucifix is a
Power House for the Holy Souls in Purgatory

By John Quinn

What is a Pardon Crucifix?It’s a thorn in Satan’s side, slammed in there by our good Pope St. Pius X. It is unclear why so few Catholics have ever heard about this sacramental. But, what is clear is that Satan absolutely hates it.

Why?

Because the Pardon Crucifix ranks up there with the the Miraculous Medal and the St. Benedict Medal.  You see Pope St. Pius X used the keys to heaven to attach heavenly rich indulgences to it.   And Satan hates powerful sacramentals.  What does he do when he hates a devotion or sacramental which is so immersed with Divine graces?

He simply hides them.  And the Pardon Crucifix has been hidden sometime after it was promulgated in 1905. Other examples 0f Satan’s dirty work include him literally hiding the Shroud of Turin (Jesus’ burial cloth), the true Cross and  St. Philomena.  How about how he perverts devotion to the Rosary, Miraculous Medal and Our Mother of Sorrows?

Yes, the Pardon Crucifix is beautiful; however, it is the words describing the indulgences / Divine graces that blow you away.

Pope St. Pius X, who granted these indulgences:

  • Whoever carries on his person the Pardon Crucifix, may thereby gain an indulgence.
  • For devoutly kissing the Crucifix, an indulgence is gained.
  • Whoever says one of the following invocations before this crucifix may gain each time an indulgence: “Our Father who art in heaven, forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us.” “I beg the Blessed Virgin Mary to pray to the Lord our God for me.”
  • Whoever, habitually devout to this Crucifix, will fulfill the necessary conditions of Confession and Holy Communion, may gain a Plenary Indulgence on the following feasts: On the feasts of the Five Wounds of our Lord, the Invention of the Holy Cross, the Exaltation of the Holy Cross, the Immaculate Conception, and the Seven Dolors of the Blessed Virgin Mary.
  • Whoever at the moment of death, fortified with the Sacraments of the Church, or contrite of heart, in the supposition of being unable to receive them, will kiss this Crucifix and ask pardon of God for his sins, and pardon his neighbor, will gain a Plenary Indulgence.

And there is this: Pontifical Rescript of June 1905,
to M.M. the Abbes
Lemann:

Prefect of the Sacred Congregation of Indulgences

To the faithful, who devoutly kiss this Crucifix and gain these precious indulgences, we recommend to have in view the following intentions: To testify love for Our Lord and the Blessed Virgin; gratitude towards our Holy Father, the Pope, to beg for the remission of one’s sins; the deliverance of the souls in Purgatory; the return of the nations to the Faith; forgiveness among Christians; reconciliation among members of the Catholic Church. By another Pontifical rescript of November 14 1905. His Holiness Pope Pius X, has declared that the Indulgence attached to the Pardon Crucifix are applicable to the souls in Purgatory.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Pardon Crucifix

  1. toad says:

    …And talking of illusions shattered, Toad can tell all of you that, “The Little Known Pardon Crucifix has wrought a miracle; a minor one, a miraclette, possibly. But still…

    It has persuaded Toad that he must comment no more on CP&S, for the sake of his mental health. (Although, to be honest, before today he’d been thinking of making that his New Year’s resolution.)

    No need to explain why, except to say that the toes of any reasonable, sensible Catholic must curl into tiny balls of acute embarrassment, nay shame, when they read the above.

    Surely, childish stuff like this must play some part in the sorry decline of The Faith in the Western World?

    ..And, no, the object itself is not beautiful. It is vulgar and nasty-looking.
    Fit only for the necks of bishops.

    Did Kathleen write the piece? Possibly, from the number of times the word “hate,” is employed.
    But no, please don’t bother answering that.

    And anyway, Toad won’t be looking to see.

    But, still and all and nevertheless, a very happy, and Indulgence-Surfeited, New Year to everyone.

    It has been fun.

    Like

  2. Brother Burrito says:

    What, you mean Toad won’t comment here any more?

    Please give us leave to organise the celebrations!

    Kathleen did not write the piece, btw.

    We’re glad you enjoyed your time here, anyway.

    Like

  3. I had not heard of this Sacramental until reading this post. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. kathleen says:

    What a beautiful Sacramental! The “Pardon Crucifix” reminds me of the post we had a few months ago, the “Marriage Crucifix”. They both point to the vital importance repentance and forgiveness have for Christians.

    Marriage Crucifix

    Like

  5. johnhenrycn says:

    I don’t think it’s “vular and nasty looking”, and if Pope St Pius X says there are indulgences attached to it, that’s good enough for me. Went to ebay and found this one dedicated to St Servatus…

    http://www.ebay.ca/itm/St-Servatus-Single-Dcade-Rosary-Pardon-Crucifix-Patron-of-Mice-Feet-Arthritis-/130725791878?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1e6fdd4886

    …the patron saint invoked to ward off rats and mice, so Mystic Mouse might not like this particular one. Brother Burrito should ask him when he next sees him (in the mirror).

    As for Toad hopping off forever, that would be unfortunate if true; but fortunately, it ain’t.
    The only people who successfully manage to leave a blog are those who just quietly slip away without announcing their intentions, or those who (blush) are banned.

    Like

  6. johnhenrycn says:

    That should be St Servatius, btw. Meant to correct the ebay seller’s description, but forgot to do so in my haste to say au revoir before Toad slips off for his 3 day sabbatical.

    Like

  7. afmm says:

    Hate is what Satan does.

    Like

  8. Pat Schwarz says:

    What makes this particular crucifix a Pardon Crucifix?

    Like

  9. toad says:

    http://www.elcaminounreal.blogspot.com.es/

    JH is right as usual, sort of.
    But this is not a comment, and I do resolve to comment no more on CP&S, but to stick to the blog.

    Like

  10. johnkonnor72 says:

    …Well sorry to hear..now i cant’t respond in kind…sort of like a cathartic catholic ee cummings..no more to baffle and bemuse the toadster….well it was always fun…if not…we all could use some ppardoning…no matter which way it happens…:-)

    Like

  11. Thank you for sharing such a great devotional ! ! !

    Like

  12. I have my Combat Rosary, with miraculous medal, St. Benedict medal, and Pardon Crucifix. It is also the most durable Rosary I have owned.

    Like

  13. Amelia (Amy)Buzzell says:

    On the reverse side of this precious PARDON CRUCIFIX are the words: BEHOLD THIS HEART WHICH HAS SO LOVED MEN. FATHER, FORGIVE THEM,

    There is a Holy Spirit in this world,
    and there is an Evil Spirit in this world.
    WE HAVE TO CHOOSE WHICH ONE WE ARE GOING TO FOLLOW.

    The Devil wants us to forget this powerful sacramental, THE PARDON CRUCIFIX, which was giving Divine Power by the Holy Spirit THROUGH the Vicor of Christ on Earth, Pius X.

    Two days ago, after having 3 Pardon Crucifixes blessed by a Catholic priest, I discovered the powerful words of Jesus on the reverse side of this powerful sacramental.

    NOW, every time I audibly repeat these beautiful WORDS of Christ, I never hesitate to want to comfort Him and join my heart to His as I kiss my PARDON CRUCIFIX with love and tears in my eyes .

    I visited Confession last Saturday; and after I asked Father Daniel Periera of Santa Maria Catholic Church in Orinda, CA, to bless my 3 PARDON CRUCIFIXES, he made the sign of the Cross over them and said: “May all who look upon this Crucifix remember the extreme suffering and pain Christ suffered for all of us.” I told Fr. Daniel “Every time I look at this Crucifix, I’ll remember those words.”

    I stayed for Mass and received Holy Communion [on my tongue].

    I returned to my kneeler, bowed my head in prayer, and began to speak to Jesus.
    I told him I wanted to join myself to Him. I have never told Him that before.

    That’s when I experienced this unforgettable moment of the DEEP LOVE He has for me. I also became aware of His great need to be LOVED by all of us.

    I was wearing a veil over my head, and it served to shield me because I started to cry for Him.
    I asked Him to bring help to all my brothers and sisters who are refugees leaving the Middle East (Syria and Northern border of Turkey) fleeing the Islamic terrorists, and to experience His Holy Love for them by meeting people who would open their hearts with shelter and something to eat.

    I hope this share helps someone.

    God Bless You,
    Amelia

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Meena says:

    Hi I would like to buy a pure & simple pardon crucifix as the one displayed.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. johnhenrycn says:

    Meena, here is the website where the Pardon Crucifix is available for purchase.

    Like

  16. Angel says:

    Pardon Crucifix ……. my absolute weapon for ever and ever !!!!!!!

    Like

  17. Fred Ernest Scanlan says:

    Please pray for me and my family and friends and the world for peace love and financial Needs pray for my kidneys and my Anxiety panic attack pray for giveness for my Sins pray for my brothers Henry and Sasagi Scanlan and my family and friends and the world for peace love Amen

    Like

  18. Michelle says:

    When I was given my fathers jewelry box after he died, I found a VERY old pardon crucifix attached to the prayer card. Either it was written in red or it has faded over the years, and is very hard to read. He carried it with him through World War 11, and Korea. It may have been his fathers. it is that old looking. However I never saw it until after he died. It sits on my prayer table now, but I am afraid I will have to move it out of the light because it has continued to fade. I pray this every morning as part of my morning prayers.
    I am hoping to be able to buy a new cross and prayer card and use it so Dad’s crucifix will be kept safe. your website is the first time I have heard anywhere about the pardon crucifix. Thank you, and God bless you all

    Like

  19. Pingback: Pardon Crucifix – Votive Candle – 捧げられた蝋燭

Leave a comment