The Blessed Virgin is so good!

f87fa1e0c81a1a227b5bafce59808c75

During World War One, on September 14th, in Noyon, France, a young corporal lay dying among wounded comrades. The officers had signaled to me that the poor fellow was lying in a field. When I got near him, leaning down, I said, “It’s me!”

“Who are you?” he asked. I realized that the man’s head was bleeding, his forehead was split open and his eyes had been gouged out. “I’m the chaplain,” I said, very moved, “I am here at your side!”

“Oh, Mr. Chaplain, the Blessed Virgin is so good!” Then he raised his right arm that was holding a Rosary and exclaimed: “All night long, I have been asking her to send a priest this way. I am so glad you’re here!”

He was shaking with fever. I took him to a nearby farm and dressed his wounds. He was beaming with happiness. His leg had been broken in the attack. A German passing by had given him a drink; another, at close range, shot him three times, the last bullet opening his forehead.

During his night of agony every time I bent over him, this young man kept saying: “Hail Mary …” and kept repeating: “How glad I am, Mr. Chaplain! The Holy Virgin is so good to have brought you here to me!”

He died three days later with a smile on his face.

Father Paul Doncoeur, military chaplain

(From mariedenazareth.com)

 

Our Lady promised to assist at the moment of death all those who made the Five First Saturdays in Reparation and in honour of Her Immaculate Heart.

On 10th December 1925, Sister Lucia was visited by Our Lady and the Child Jesus and the Holy Virgin said to her:

“‘Look My daughter, at My Heart, surrounded with thorns with which ungrateful men pierce Me at every moment by their blasphemies and ingratitude. You at least try to console Me and announce in My name that I promise to assist at the moment of death, with all the graces necessary for salvation, all those who, on the First Saturday of five consecutive months shall confess, receive Holy Communion, recite five decades of the Rosary, and keep Me company for fifteen minutes while meditating on the fifteen mysteries of the Rosary, with the intention of making Reparation to Me.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Blessed Virgin is so good!

  1. Robert says:

    Thank you!!

    Like

  2. toadspittle says:

    A wonderfully Catholic story. And an object lesson to us all.

    Like

Leave a comment