Sunday readings and reflections

2nd book of Kings 4: 8-11, 14-16a

One day Elisha came to Shunem, where there was a woman of influence, who urged him to dine with her. Afterward, whenever he passed by, he used to stop there to dine.
So she said to her husband, “I know that he is a holy man of God. Since he visits us often,
let us arrange a little room on the roof and furnish it for him with a bed, table, chair, and lamp, so that when he comes to us he can stay there.”
Sometime later Elisha arrived and stayed in the room overnight.
Later Elisha asked, “Can something be done for her?” “Yes!” Gehazi answered. “She has no son, and her husband is getting on in years.”
“Call her,” said Elisha. When she had been called, and stood at the door,
Elisha promised, “This time next year you will be fondling a baby son.” “Please, my lord,” she protested, “you are a man of God; do not deceive your servant.”

Psalms 89(88): 2-3, 16-17, 18-19

The favors of the LORD I will sing forever;
through all generations my mouth shall proclaim your faithfulness.
For you have said, “My kindness is established forever”;
in heaven you have confirmed your faithfulness.

Blessed the people who know the joyful shout;
in the light of your countenance, O LORD, they walk.
At your name they rejoice all the day,
and through your justice they are exalted.

For you are the splendor of their strength,
and by your favor our horn is exalted.
For to the LORD belongs our shield,
and to the Holy One of Israel, our King.

Letter to the Romans 6: 3-4, 8-11

Brothers and sisters: Are you unaware that we who were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death?
We were indeed buried with him through baptism into death, so that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might live in newness of life.
If, then, we have died with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with him.
We know that Christ, raised from the dead, dies no more; death no longer has power over him.
As to his death, he died to sin once and for all; as to his life, he lives for God.
Consequently, you too must think of yourselves as (being) dead to sin and living for God in Christ Jesus.

Holy Gospel of Jesus Christ according to Saint Matthew 10: 37-42

Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me;
and whoever does not take up his cross and follow after me is not worthy of me.
Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.
Whoever receives you receives me, and whoever receives me receives the one who sent me.
Whoever receives a prophet because he is a prophet will receive a prophet’s reward, and whoever receives a righteous man because he is righteous will receive a righteous man’s reward.
And whoever gives only a cup of cold water to one of these little ones to drink because he is a disciple – amen, I say to you, he will surely not lose his reward.”

 

Saint John Chrysostom (c.345-407)
priest at Antioch then Bishop of Constantinople, Doctor of the Church
Homilies on the Acts of the Apostles, no. 45

“He who welcomes you welcomes me”

The Lord said: “Whoever welcomes this little child on my account welcomes me.” (Lk 9:48) The smaller our brother is, the more Christ is present. For when we welcome a great personality, we often do so out of vainglory; but the person who welcomes someone unimportant does so with a pure intention and for Christ. He said: “I was a stranger and you welcomed me.” And again: “As often as you did it for one of my least brothers, you did it for me.” (Mt 25:35.40) Since he is talking about a believer and a brother, no matter how unimportant he is, Christ comes in with him. Open your house and welcome him.

“He who welcomes a prophet because he bears the name of prophet receives a prophet’s reward.” Thus, the person who welcomes Christ will receive the reward of Christ’s hospitality. Do not doubt his words, trust them. He himself told us: “In them, I am presenting myself.” And so that you do not doubt them, he decreed the punishment for those who do not welcome him and the honors for those who do welcome him (Mt 25:31ff.). He would not do this if he were not personally touched by honor or scorn. He says: “You welcomed me into your house; I will welcome you in the Kingdom of my Father. You freed me from hunger; I will free you from your sins. You saw me in chains; I will let you see your liberation. You saw me a stranger; I will make of you a citizen of heaven. You gave me bread; I will give you the Kingdom as your inheritance that is entirely yours. You helped me in secret; I will proclaim it publicly and I will say that you are my benefactor and that I am in your debt.”

TLM readings for the fourth Sunday after Pentecost:

Epistle Romans 8: 18-23

Brethren, I reckon that the sufferings of this time are not worthy to be compared with the glory that is to come, that shall be revealed to us. For the expectation of the creature waiteth for the revelation of the sons of God, for the creature was made subject to vanity, not willingly, but by reason of him that made it subject in hope; because the creature also itself shall be delivered from the servitude of corruption, into the liberty of the glory of the children of God. For we know that every creature groaneth, and travaileth in pain, even till now and not only it, but ourselves also, who have the first fruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting for the adoption of the sons of God, the redemption of our body in Christ Jesus Our Lord.

Gradual Psalms 78: 9-10

Forgive us our sins, O Lord, lest the Gentiles should at any time say: Where is their God? Help us, O God, our Savior and for the honor of Thy Name, O Lord, deliver us. Alleluia, alleluia. (Ps. 9: 5, 10) O God, who sittest upon the throne, and judgest justice, be Thou the refuge of the poor in tribulation. Alleluia.

Gospel Luke 5: 1-11

At that time, when the multitude pressed upon Jesus to hear the word of God, He stood by the lake of Genesareth. And He saw two ships standing by the lake; but the fishermen were gone out of them, and were washing their nets. And going up into one of the ships that was Simon’s, He desired him to draw back a little from the land: and sitting He taught the multitudes out of the ship. Now when He had ceased to speak, He said to Simon: Launch out into the deep, and let down your nets for a draught. And Simon, answering, said to Him: Master, we have labored all the night, and have taken nothing, but at Thy word I will let down the net.
And when they had done this, they enclosed a very great multitude of fishes and their net broke: and they beckoned to their partners that were in the other ship, that they should come and help them and they came, and filled both the ships, so that they were almost sinking. Which when Simon Peter saw, he fell down at Jesus’ knees, saying: Depart from me, for I am a sinful man, O Lord. For he was wholly astonished, and all that were with him, at the draught of fishes which they had taken: and so were also James and John the sons of Zebedee, who were Simon’s partners. And Jesus saith to Simon: Fear not, from henceforth thou shalt catch men. And having brought their ships to land, leaving all things, they followed Him.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday readings and reflections

  1. Robert John Bennett says:

    Splendid thoughts – thank you!

    Like

  2. Thank you once again as this blog and this particular article with the Specific Scriptures contained within have answered a thought and prayer I had during the night and now was inspired and compelled to get out the ideas that I did on the other blog article “Prophecies By Visionaries Who Foresaw Today’s Crisis in the Church,” basically everything I was processing and contemplating saying came out there and now i will take all of it and put it concisely on display as a blog essay as something I hope is a worthy accomplishment for God on Sunday in the practice of our faith and my perhaps helping in some tiny way. Amen.

    Like

  3. alexantunes002 says:

    I would like to comment on the Homily of Fr. John Zulsdorf.
    Fr John Zuhlsdorf’s remark caught my attention that we live in a society that reduces the supernatural to the natural. A society that needs to pay more attention to the supernatural.
    Unfortunately, materialism can suffocate the spiritual in our soul, as the Gospel warns us about the sower in another passage. But not only materialism suffocates spirituality in our life. Other reasons can lead to this as well, like a lack of catechesis in childhood, or even in adult life. The contradictions or lack of charity towards our neighbour. Etc.

    Like

Leave a comment