Poor Guy

A short topical post from Fr. Bede Rowe:  http://frbederowe.blogspot.co.uk

Today our country celebrates the burning of a Catholic. The historical situation was one of treason, but its continued celebration was one of anti-Catholicism.

I am fond of Guy Fawkes, my first dry Mass as a seminarian was a requiem for the repose of his soul. And I remember a poem I wrote in my primary school about him:

Under the clock of Big Ben
Lay Guy Fawkes and his men
With one and a half tonnes of dynamite
Guy Fawkes waited until night.

But the cellar was searched the night before
Guy Fawkes’ companions watched with awe
Guy Fawkes was placed upon the rack,
They made a plan to rebel back.

Not high art, I know, but I was only nine – give me a break. Funnily though, I have remembered it for 36 years.

So today Lewis will burn an effigy of the Pope (here) to continue the anti-Catholic atmosphere. Actually I hope they do burn an effigy of him. If not, then the Pope is reconciled to the world, accepted by it, and we are no longer counter-cultural and no longer represent Christ.

Burn baby, burn.

About Gertrude

Sáncte Míchael Archángele, defénde nos in proélio, cóntra nequítiam et insídias diáboli ésto præsídium.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Poor Guy

  1. Toad says:

    I wonder if they will specify which pope they will burn this year in Lewes? Probably not.
    Any suggestions from CP&S?
    Anti-Catholicism is a thing of the past, though, in England at least (Scotland? Northern Ireland? Hmm.). Feelings don’t run high in that direction any more. I doubt if you’ll find one single, anti-papal, fanatic in Lewes.
    I also think, if you ask “ordinary” English people what it’s all about – you’ll find they think they are celebrating Guy Fawkes as a hero for making a gallant attempt, despite failing, to blow up Parliament.
    The English love failures. Look at Captain Scott.

  2. Gertrude says:

    Any suggestions from CP&S?

    I couldn’t possibly comment Toad😉

  3. johnhenrycn says:

    “Today our country celebrates the burning of a Catholic.”

    Harrumph! Yesterday, my country celebrated the swearing in of a Catholic (so-called) who pledged allegiance to “Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second, Queen of Canada, her HAIRS and successors” (around the 30 second mark):

    Of course, ERII is always immaculately coiffed, but even a die-hard monarchist like me thinks that’s a bit over the top. This is on topic isn’t it? Sort of?

Leave a Reply

