Divine Love Is ‘Supra-Rational’

By David Torkington

When I first decided to spend my life searching for God I visited the great Carthusian monastery, St Hugh’s Charterhouse, Parkminster in Sussex with the intention of living the enclosed eremitical life. I was deeply impressed and I immediately came to the conclusion that it was here that I would like to spend the rest of my life. That is until I had a long talk with the monk who had shown me around. It was obvious that he was deeply happy in his chosen vocation despite long periods of spiritual darkness when the light of God’s love highlighted the sinfulness that kept him out. However, this did not deter me, for I had long since understood that before union with God could begin, it would have to be preceded by an inner purification, and I was eager for this purification to take place so that my deepest heart’s desire could be fulfilled.

Drawbacks to Eremitical Life

What did eventually put me off was the monk’s frank admission of what happened in, or rather after experiencing moments of ecstatic bliss, when he experienced the presence of God penetrating him from within. His all but uncontrollable joy was only the half of it, for after moments of mystical ‘at-one-ment’ he would be filled with wisdom too, with a spiritual understanding and insight into his faith that he had never experienced before. However, what had initially given him so much pleasure was counterbalanced by feelings of deep sadness. The problem was that he had no one with whom to share his joy and the mystical knowledge that he had never understood before. What he wanted to do was to shout it from the rooftops, but all had to be contained within him for nothing could be shared with others, at least in the way that he would have wished.

Despite everything else that attracted me to the Carthusian way of life, it was this admission that decided me. I was a communicator by both inclination and profession and it was my greatest pleasure to communicate what I had learnt to others.

I Do Be Digging

Some years ago I had dinner with friends in London. When I was leaving their home I was introduced to the husband’s father, who was busy digging in the garden. Taken by surprise and not knowing what to say I asked a rather stupid question, ‘And what are you doing’? I said. ‘I do be digging the garden’, he replied, glancing at his son as if to say, ‘Who’s your fatuous friend’? Intrigued by his answer I asked a nun who taught Irish in Dublin what was meant by the expression, ‘I do be digging the garden’. She said that it is the English rendering of what is called in Irish, the present continuing tense. It means, ‘I have been digging the garden, I am digging the garden and when you stop asking the obvious, I will continue to dig the garden!’

Read the rest of this beautiful article here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Divine Love Is ‘Supra-Rational’

  1. Robert says:

    I have read the article. He never mentions the Trinity. Under the Old Covenant the Trinity wasn’t known. St John was directly related to the Holy family. That God is loving was known but loving to whom?
    The difference between the Old Covenant and the New is this revelation of the Trinity and what binds the three persons in one God is selfless Love. Selfless Love between the Father and the Son and the Holy Ghost. So God is Love expressly the Trinity in a way that was never known to the synagogue.
    The article mentions St Augustine who expressly mentions this.
    “..St Augustine said that the pure goodness generated by the mutual loving that is ‘spiritually embodied’ in the ‘Three in One’ must overflow, it cannot be permanently contained within itself.
    ..” This cascading of Love comes from the Trinity and pours into Creation visible and invisible. Especially however in Man.
    John 3:16
    For God so loved the world, as to give his only begotten Son; that whosoever believeth in him, may not perish, but may have life everlasting.

    This then is where Love pours out its love on those who believe in Our Lord so that these might not perish (Hell) but have life everlasting (Heaven).

    It is necessary always to point to the New Testament because without Our Lord no salvation is possible. The synagogue isn’t and never was the mystical body of Christ.

    Like

  2. toadspittle says:

    The synagogue isn’t and never was the mystical body of Christ.
    This is the first time I’ve heard anyone suggest that it might be even a remote possibility..

    “It is necessary always to point to the New Testament because without Our Lord no salvation is possible.”
    The author doesn’t mention the New Testament, because it isn’t necessary in the particular piece he chose to write.
    You, Roger, are like the person who reads ‘Moby Dick,’ and then says, “Nice book, but why are there no Hobbits in it?”

    Like

  3. Robert says:

    No the revelation of the Carthusian monk reminds of the Sacred Heart Abyss of Love and Pain!
    The author takes God is Love but doesn’t bring in the Trinity. Supra – Rational? not really when you understand the Sacred Heart.
    The Trinity is a revelation in the New Testament because we see that God’s Love is Selfless.
    Take the Trinity away and we have a God with Self Love! Ego centred Love.

    Like

  4. toadspittle says:

    “No the revelation of the Carthusian monk reminds of the Sacred Heart Abyss of Love and Pain”
    Well, of course it does, dunnit?
    How could it not?
    But I agree it’s easy for you to say, Regbert.

    Like

  5. Robert says:

    The Sacred Heart that also has nobody to share its Pain (over the loss of souls) and the Abyss of Love which is God. That poor monk given to feel and understand the Abyss of Love and Pain!
    Definition of supra-rational. : transcending the rational : based on or involving factors not to be comprehended by reason alone.
    Which of course is why its called Faith and why the belief in rationalism and naturalism is leading this generation away from Heaven.

    Like

Leave a comment