Spokesman Explains How Pope Can Be So Calm Says Benedict XVI Is Offering His Best

Image from thepapalvisit.org.uk

VATICAN CITY, SEPT. 18, 2010 (Zenit.org).- Benedict XVI’s serenity is itself a message to the world, and the secret to his calm is his faith in Jesus Christ, says a Vatican spokesman.

Jesuit Father Federico Lombardi, director of the Vatican press office, made this reflection today on the latest edition of Vatican Television’s “Octava Dies.”

Regardless of controversies, the priest said, the Pope continues giving the reasons for his Christian hope with “gentleness and respect.”

Father Lombardi spoke about the press conference the Holy Father gave Thursday, en route to the United Kingdom, where he will be till Sunday.

Asked if he was worried about his reception, the Pontiff said he was going into the trip with courage and joy.

“He said that the Church should not be so concerned about appearing strong and attractive, but about totally allowing the person and words of Jesus Christ to be seen,” Father Lombardi added.

Herein lies “the very simple secret of the Pope, even in difficult situations,” the spokesman proposed. This serenity “in itself is already a message and an example for believers.”

“The secret is, in fact, faith in Jesus Christ,” he said — a faith that the Pope “proposes with intelligence, with confidence and with joy, knowing and respecting the questions and the difficulties of his interlocutors.”

Benedict XVI “knows well that today the encounter with God and with the Christian faith is not easy and cannot be taken for granted,” Father Lombardi said. What is needed is “a voice and a friendly hand that will propose clearly and accompany one with love to discover the beauty and value of the Christian proposal.”

This proposal might or might not be listened to, the spokesman acknowledged, “but the proposal is beautiful: It is the best the Pope can offer. That is why he does so with joy, and those who accept it participate in this joy.”

This entry was posted in Church Politics, Papal Visit, Pope Benedict. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spokesman Explains How Pope Can Be So Calm Says Benedict XVI Is Offering His Best

  1. toadspittle says:

    Sorry, Everyone…

    but this ‘reply’ has but little to do with the Pope’s ‘serenity’, except that this old agnostic amphibian is far more impressed with this Pontiff than the last one.

    Not that anyone cares, but which surprises Toad, pleasantly.

    From the point of view of CP&S, though, this is the first post for over 24 hours from anyone.. Not good. It’s like nobody gives a damn.
    The usual suspects are (or were) all, shamefully including myself, on ‘Damian,’ frittering away our lives by indulging in the most pointless and idiotic squabbles about nothing of importance.
    Again, I include myself.
    What is wrong with me?

    But, for this old toad, it is enough.

    Include me out.

    I went to Mass as usual today, Sunday, and prayed, to anyone or anything who might be listening, to save me from now on from getting into ridiculous blog arguments about Atheists and philosophers. It is truly insane.

    And, until I tangled with our Teresa last night, I have to admit I had no idea what the word ‘Teutonic,’ really implied.
    I do now.

    God knows how they ever lost World War Two.

    As for myself, I intend to… I don’t know…
    Repent, I suppose.
    Devote more of my time to helping the really unfortunate.
    Walk my dogs (even) more frequently.
    Try not to do too much harm.
    Cultivate my own garden.
    Leave the bathroom the way I found it.

    Stop me before I blog on CP&S again!

    Like

  2. Frere Rabit says:

    Toad, I’d like to ask what this nonsense means: “until I tangled with our Teresa last night, I have to admit I had no idea what the word ‘Teutonic,’ really implied”.

    While I appreciate your humour most of the time, this cringe-making German stereotype thing that you do from time to time – a sort of Fawlty Towers ‘don’t mention the war’ joke gone wrong – is so out of place it really grates. It is quite silly to suppose that Teresa’s geographical location tells you something about her ‘Teutonic’ tendencies.

    Just because you live in Spain, shall we picture you in a sombrero and moustache, spending your day in Moratinos clacking away on castanets and eating paella?

    Like

  3. toadspittle says:

    No need for apologies between friends,
    Teresa, and as you may have noticed, I’m a bit of a philosophy fan myself.
    But I do think I’m going to try to reduce, at least my input here and … “there.”

    It seems to me now the Pope is being, too hysterically, either adulated or abused.

    (Something wrong with the grammar of that sentence.)

    Like

  4. Mimi says:

    Janey Mack, ye are all so very serious! This is a time of rejoicing! The Holy Father’s visit was deeply moving, and appeared very successful. I watched almost every minute of it on TV, and despite the apprehensions provoked by months of Damien Thompson’s sniping at and criticism of almost every aspect of the organisation, everything went beautifully in the end. The liturgies were fine, the music was (mostly) lovely, and the stage for the beatification Mass in Birmingham turned out to be a thing of real beauty. I guess some people just aren’t happy unless they’re finding fault with something.

    Ye might consider making a complete break with DT’s blog, you know. I don’t think your participation achieves any good, and it must surely be bad for your health!

    P.S. Teresa, intrigued by your remarks on an earlier thread, I kept an eye out for “Gorgeous George” — and he IS gorgeous! I guess you and I have quite different tastes as regards men. 😉

    Like

  5. toadspittle says:

    “Ye might consider making a complete break with DT’s blog, you know. I don’t think your participation achieves any good, and it must surely be bad for your health!”

    …Says Mimi. Amen to that. Advice we might all consider. Me, for one.

    Like

  6. toadspittle says:

    “Toad, I’d like to ask what this nonsense means: “until I tangled with our Teresa last night, I have to admit I had no idea what the word ‘Teutonic,’ really implied”.

    Well, Rabit, if it’s nonsense, it won’t mean anything, will it?

    Anyway, you can get back to your lettuceburger in peace. Teresa and I have bothly agreed we were both equally silly. (Although I think I was the sillier.)

    Like

  7. mmvc says:

    I agree about DT, Mimi. Some of the comments there are like toxic gas after the breath of fresh air our Holy Father brought to this land!
    Having said that, I just found this gem over there, offered by Malcolm. I’m sure he won’t mind my sharing it with you here:

    A Meditation by Blessed John Henry Newman

    God has created me
    to do him some definite service;
    He has committed some work to me
    which He has not committed to another.
    I have my mission –
    I may never know it in this life,
    but I shall be told of it in the next.

    I am a link in a chain,
    a bond of connection between persons.
    He has not created me for naught,
    I shall do good,
    I shall do his work.
    I shall be an angel of peace,
    a preacher of truth
    in my own place
    while not intending it –
    if I do but keep
    His Commandments.

    Therefore, I will trust Him.
    Whatever, wherever I am,
    I can never be thrown away.
    If I am in sickness,
    my sickness may serve Him;
    in perplexity,
    my perplexity may serve Him;
    if I am in sorrow,
    my sorrow may serve Him.
    He does nothing in vain.
    He knows what He is about.
    He may take away my friends.
    He may throw me among strangers.
    He may make me feel desolate,
    make my spirits sink,
    hide my future from me –
    still He knows
    what He is about.

    Like

  8. toadspittle says:

    We must all agree with mmve (and Malcolm) that Newman’s meditation is, indeed, a ‘gem’. The last two lines, particularly, put me in mind of fellow ‘muse,’ E. J. Thribb.

    In Memoriam Jack Lemmon

    So. Farewell then
    Jack Lemmon.
    Hollywood comedian
    And much-loved
    Star of
    Some Like It Hot.
    Yes. That was your
    Most famous film.
    And, at the
    Time of writing,
    It is very hot indeed.
    Some may
    Like it but
    I do not.

    E. J. Thribb

    Like

  9. Mimi says:

    🙂

    That’s superb, Toad!

    More E.J. Thribb, please!

    Like

Leave a comment