Daily Archives: September 26, 2013

Fr Wilfrid Faber: the author who John XXIII read before bedtime

from: http://www.catholicherald.co.uk The unfairly maligned founder of the London Oratory died 150 years ago By Fr Julian Large Fr Wilfrid Faber once said: ‘I walk down the street in my habit and I feel I dispel invincible ignorance wherever I go’ Preaching … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 21 Comments

Sts. Cosmas & Damian: September 26th.

Sts. Cosmas & Damian were twins and early Christian martyrs born in Arabia who practised the art of healing in the seaport of Aegea (modern Ayas) in the Gulf of Issus, then in the Roman province of Syria. They accepted … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Does the Orthodox Church predate the Catholic Church?

from: http://www.catholicbridge.com I got an email from an Orthodox Christian that said: >>>>>>Also, you refer to the Eastern Orthodox Church as being “almost as old as the Catholic Church.” Since Christianity began in the East, and the patriarchates of Jerusalem, … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 8 Comments