When Satan Tells You “You’re too good for” Motherhood

I really enjoyed reading this article, which I found via Twitter.

Encourage & Teach

This week we recognize the gift of femininity and the vocation of motherhood in its varied forms. We celebrate, as Pope Francis says, woman’s “great gift of being able to give life, of being able to give tenderness, of being able to give peace and joy.”

This article first appeared here, on Crisis Magazine. Copyright 2009. All rights reserved. Reprinted with permission.

By: Marion Fernandez-Cueto

There is a line in Scripture that has always infuriated me. It’s Timothy 2:15, and for years I could not read it without wanting to hurl my Bible at the wall. “The woman,” writes St. Paul, “will be saved by childbearing, if only she continue with faith, love and holiness.” Its baptized misogyny was insulting enough (how typical to posit a woman’s salvation within her social confines of barefoot, pregnant servitude), yet beneath it lurked a more devastating injury: the idea that a woman’s…

View original post 1,896 more words

About Brother Burrito

A sinner who hopes in God's Mercy, and who cannot stop smiling since realizing that Christ IS the Way , the Truth and the Life. Alleluia!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When Satan Tells You “You’re too good for” Motherhood

  1. GC says:

    Well, exactly. Oh my, that’s a real goodie, Brother B.

    The Son of Man came not to be served, but to serve.

  2. johnhenrycn says:

    “…a real goodie…”

    If you say so, GC. Neither of BB’s links work for me.

  3. johnhenrycn says:

    As I say, I can’t open BB’s link, but still wish to comment on this article because, over here, tomorrow is Mother’s Day. Who , aside from Mary and one’s own mother, best represents the ideal of motherhood? My vote is for a step-mother, actually. Maria Von Trapp.

    Marge Simpson is a good mother, too.

  4. GC says:

    Have you cleared your cache in the last decade, JH?

    Try this tinyurl and say you agree:

    http://tinyurl.com/lyllne9

  5. johnhenrycn says:

    Ha! Actually, I delete my browsing history every day or two. I remember a post a year or two ago by BB that featured a photo of a medic alert band with the words Delete My Browsing History, and since then have been scrupulous about doing so. But never mind – I did eventually manage to read this article and agree it is magnificent. Happy Mother’s Day.

  6. GC says:

    JH, some sage said about 30 years ago that the two saddest things in life are never to gain the one thing you desire most, and the second is actually to gain it.

  7. johnhenrycn says:

    To quote a 1996 essay by Michael R. Linton (Redemptive Sex At The Met), Veronique (the single woman in the article) is your quintessential homo erectus appetitus, a featherless biped possessed of desires and wants who makes contracts of convenience and who is vacant of love but vibrant with lust, very much the woman – or the man – of the hour.

  8. geoffkiernan says:

    As a Grandparent of several I must say I have a much greater regard for my Daughter and two Daughters in law than I ever did for the accomplishments of my own wife. I know that aint fair but that’s how it is. But I love her all the more, it is a huge achievement is the scheme of things as is the whole matter of Motherhood

Leave a Reply

